Surrounded by chestnut groves and with a spectacular view of the lake and the splendid Liro Valley, Peglio is an ancient village located halfway up the valley at the mouth of the plain of Livo. The village is an excellent starting point for the “Via dei Monti Lariani” (the second part of the fourth and final section of the route starts here) and for beautiful tours, in particular the one to Monte Duria and along the slopes of Monte Sasso Pelo. Not far away is the cliff of Sasso Pelo, one of the most charming and enjoyable places on Lake Como, and a favourite with climbers and hikers.
The village is characterised by rustic stone houses with portals, grilles and sacred frescoes that stand as a testament to its ancient prosperity. In the middle of the 14th century, Peglio was already governed by its own consuls, and two centuries later it became part of the Feud of the Tre Pievi controlled by Cardinal Tolomeo Gallio. From the 16th to the 19th centuries it was affected by massive emigration to Palermo, which however brought a fair amount of prosperity to the town, as evidenced by the rich ornaments and art works of the parish donated by those who emigrated to Sicily.
The Church of Sant'Eusebio and Vittore became a parish church in 1461 and was completely altered at the beginning of the 17th century, leaving the characteristic porticoed churchyard with 16th century frescoes. Situated on a natural balcony with a breath-taking view over the entire Alto Lario, it preserves many frescoes by Fiammenghino dating back to the beginning of the 17th century, a precious organ attributed to Antegnati and elegant sacred furnishings of the Baroque period.
Also, worth visiting is the Oratory of the Madonna del Gorghiglio, built in the 17th century on the road leading from Peglio to Livo.